Department of English

University of Toronto

Welcome to the U of T Department of English


 Tom Keymer

The Department of English is delighted to congratulate Professor Thomas Keymer who has been appointed University Professor, the highest honour that the University accords to its faculty.

 Will Robins 2

The Department of English is delighted to congratulate Professor Will Robins who will be the 13th President of Victoria University.

 Brian Corman

The Department of English is delighted to congratulate Professor Brian Corman who has won the 2015  Faculty Award.



Joanne Leow, PhD Candidate, featured on the School of Graduate Studies' website, talks about life at UofT.

News & Sessional Dates:

Friday, October 09, 2015.
December examination schedule posted.
Monday, October 12, 2015.
Thanksgiving Day; University closed.
Sunday, November 08, 2015.
last day to cancel F section code courses without academic penalty; last day to add or remove a CR/NCR option for F section code courses.
Monday, November 09, 2015.
November break; no classes.
Tuesday, December 08, 2015.
classes end in F and Y section code courses; term work in F section code courses must be submitted unless an earlier date has been stipulated.
Read more news 

In Memoriam Professor Phyllis Grosskurth

In the Media:

Read more News In Print
Read more about English Newsmakers


Thursday, October 08, 2015.
The Fourth Annual J. R. de J. Jackson Lecture: Johanna Drucker (UCLA), “Analogue and Digital Histories of the Alphabet”.
Wednesday, October 14, 2015.
Going to Grad School Workshop.
Thursday, October 15, 2015.
So You Want to Get into Publishing?.
Tuesday, October 20, 2015.
Backpack to Briefcase (b2B) English Careers Night.
Read more events 

English Newsmakers: 

Read the Accolades page for news regarding our faculty.

Site Information:

Site Tools:

Click below for directions to the University of Toronto!

University of Toronto, St. George Campus
Map of St. George Campus
Map of Mississauga Campus
Map of Scarborough Campus